Thursday, February 27, 2014

2.27.14

At the Jets game today they honored the Olympic athletes, including Jocelyn Larocque who played for the same hockey club that Sophia's girls team plays with.  She dropped the puck in the ceremonial face off and picked the 50/50 winner.



Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

2.25.14

For some reason I forgot to take a picture today, so I'm using this one from a few days ago when I took the girls to Disney on Ice (same day the Canadian women won the gold medal).

Monday, February 24, 2014

Sunday, February 23, 2014

2.23.14

We were all pumped for the men's win over Sweden for gold today!  I watched the dying seconds before dashing off to church, a little late for choir sound check.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Friday, February 21, 2014

2.21.14

And now it's the men's turn for victory over the US, putting them through to the gold medal game. Go Canada!

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

2.18.14

Today Sophia had some science homework - they were supposed to randomly combine kitchen ingredients and record their observations.  I figured that could get boring in a hurry without a little guidance, so I google fun kitchen experiments and told her to try a few different things.  For this one you sprinkle pepper on some water.  Then you put a little bit of dish detergent on your finger - when you touch the water the pepper will flee to the edges of the plate.  It was pretty neat!

Monday, February 17, 2014

2.17.14

In today's playoff hockey game Olivia scored, her team won, and I won the 50/50 - the perfect hockey trifecta!  Here she is spending some of my winnings on a bottle of root beer. 

Sunday, February 16, 2014

2.16.14

Sophia and Olivia had a blast with their friends at the ScotiaBank Girls Hockey Fest today.  They got lunch, jerseys, toques, watched some higher level girls hockey, heard speeches by past Olympians, and took part in on and off ice training - all free!

Thursday, February 13, 2014

2.13.14

And the home reading begins!  Jacob read this book by himself.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

2.12.14

Today, Emma had basketball, I made Valentine's cupcakes for all 4 classes (running out of icing with only 8 left to go!), and Nathan & I took Jacob out for his two-on-one birthday supper

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

2.11.14

Celebrating Nathan's birthday a week late.  Kids got him chocolate and I got him a white Mark Scheifele jersey (#55).

Monday, February 10, 2014

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

2.5.14

Enjoying our day in San Juan, Puerto Rico - one of our favourite ports of call.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

2.4.14


Enjoying the peace and quiet of an empty ship as we were docked at St. Thomas on Nathan's birthday.

Monday, February 3, 2014

2.3.14

Towel art waiting for us in our balcony stateroom (#7427) at the end of an at sea day.

Sunday, February 2, 2014

2.2.14

Our 1st port of call - Half Moon Cays (Carnival's private island in the Bahamas).

Saturday, February 1, 2014

2.1.14

First night onboard after eating in the Golden Olympian Dining Room.